Throwback: Caribbean, January 2005 (part I)

*I have been meaning to transcribe some of my old pre-blog travel journals. This trip, taken 10 years ago this month, seems a good place to start. J’s parents took us on our first cruise, which was a totally new experience for us, and we had a great time. This post is adapted from my travel journal.*

8 January 2005. This morning we had breakfast at our hotel in Miami. J had blueberry pancakes and I had French toast made of cinnamon rolls. It sounded better than it tasted, unfortunately. We left the hotel for the port at 11 or so and were able to board this ship pretty quickly–it is huge. We found out rooms and went to lunch. There was so much to eat…I ate some little sandwiches and a slice of pizza, mashed potatoes, and bread, plus three desserts (they were small and one was fruit). I also had a pina colada with an umbrella in it. We wandered around the ship again and unpacked. The rooms are quite nice. We went to a safety drill at 4:30 and left port a little after five. We watched from our balcony. It was really cool–some pelicans flew by and we passed another cruise ship and everyone waved at us.

Goodbye, Miami!
Goodbye, Miami!

J and I walked around the ship and shopped a bit; I got a scarf* We had dinner and relaxed in the hot tub. It was so nice to be in the hot tub with the cool sea breeze around us.

9 January 2005. At sea. Didn’t do much today–got up and went to breakfast buffet and had good French toast. We saw Cuba in the distance. We went ice skating after lunch–it was strange to be ice skating on a ship in the ocean, but it was fun. At night we went to formal dinner and had photos taken. It took forever, but there was free champagne while we were waiting in line. Dinner was delicious. I had escargots, sea bass, and cherries jubilee.

*I still have this scarf, a black faux pashmina, and it has been everywhere with me.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑